IGLTA Announces Annual Travel Honors

Global convention in Brazil a showcase for LGBT tourism leaders

The 29th Annual Global Convention of the International Gay and Lesbian Travel Association in Florianopolis, Brazil (April 12-14) is not only the gay tourism industry’s premier networking and educational event, but also an opportunity to honor individuals and companies that have helped to make the world more inviting to LGBT travelers.

These annual awards are selected by the IGLTA board of directors from the association’s membership of tourism businesses in 89 countries. “The board of IGLTA is so very pleased to recognize these honorees from around the world,” said IGLTA Chair Tanya Churchmuch. “Each and every one of them has played an important role in promoting LGBT travel in the most extraordinary of ways, from pioneering LGBT family travel to highlighting the plight of gays and lesbians in the Middle East to spearheading LGBT media in Brazil. It’s an honor to recognize each of them for the work they are doing every day.”

The Hanns Ebensten Hall of Fame Award: Gregg Kaminsky, R Family Vacations, for his innovation in developing a successful tourism product for LGBT families

The Chair Award: Javier Blanco, Director, UNWTO Affiliate Members, for bringing LGBT travel to the forefront of discussion among the United Nations World Tourism Organization membership

Community (based in the IGLTA convention host city/country): Andre Fischer, MiX Brasil, for his longstanding contributions to building queer visibility in Brazil through media

Pioneer: Russell Lord of Tel Aviv-based Kenes Tours, for more than 20 years of LGBT travel consulting in the Middle East

Travel Writer: Michael Luongo, for his years of quality travel journalism, gay and straight, with a focus on the Middle East and Latin America


FB Comments

Greg Jeu

Greg Jeu is the Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of OutSmart Magazine.

Leave a Review or Comment

Back to top button