UPDATED: Election Endorsments from the GLBT Political Caucus for November 2012 Election

Note: This list has been updated to reflect the additional candidates added at the  Oct. 3 caucus meeting.

by Tom Fricke

The Houston GLBT Political Caucus PAC endorsed the following candidates for election in the upcoming November 6 general election. To qualify for the HGLPC endorsement, candidates submitted a comprehensive screening questionnaire and personally sat with the Caucus screening panel. The Caucus membership then voted on September 8 from the listed candidates. If a position does not appear on the list, it means the Caucus did not endorse in that position.

At press time, the language for bond propositions was not available, therefore the Caucus was unable to determine whether or not to recommend a vote “for” or “yes” on specific bond measures.

Worth noting is candidate Jim Dougherty, who is running for U.S. House of Representative for the newly formed District 2 which now includes Montrose.

For the 215th Judicial District (formerly held by Judge Steve Kirkland), the Caucus reported finding “no qualified candidate and recommend abstaining from voting in that race.”

OutSmart will update this list as the information becomes available.

State Board of Education, District 6: Traci Jensen
State Board of Education, District 8: Dexter Smith
State Representative, District 131: Alma Allen
State Representative, District 134: Ann Johnson
State Representative, District 135: Paul Morgan
State Representative, District 137: Gene Wu
Justice, 1st Court of Appeals, Place 7: Natalia Cokinos Oakes
Justice, 1st Court of Appeals, Place 8: Nile Copeland
Justice, 1st Court of Appeals, Place 9: Kathy Cheng
Justice, 14th Court of Appeals Place 3: Barbara Gardner
Justice, 14th Court of Appeals, Place 5: Tanner Garth
District Judge, 11th Judicial District: Mike Miller
District Judge, 61st Judicial District: Alfred “Al” Bennett
District Judge, 80 Judicial District : Larry Weiman
District Judge, 125th Judicial District : Kyle Carter
District Judge, 127th Judicial District: R.K. Sandill
District Judge, 129th Judicial District : Michael P. Gomez
District Judge, 133rd Judicial District: Jaclanel McFarland
District Judge, 151st Judicial District: Mike Engelhart
District Judge, 152nd Judicial District: Robert Shaffer
District Judge, 164th Judicial District : Alexandra Smoots-Hogan
District Judge, 165th District: Josefina Rendon
District Judge, 174th District: Ruben Guerrero
District Judge, 176th Judicial District: Shawna L. Reagin
District Judge, 177th District: Vivian King
District Judge, 179th Judicial District: Randy Roll
District Judge, 215th Judicial District : ABSTAIN – No qualified candidate
District Judge, 334th Judicial District: Donna Roth
District Judge, 337th Judicial District: Herb Ritchie
District Judge, 338 District: Hazel B. Jones
District Judge, 339th Judicial District: Maria T. Jackson
District Judge, 351st Judicial District: Mack McInnis
Judge, County Court at Law No. 1: Erica M. Graham
Judge, County Court at Law No. 2: Damon Crenshaw
Justice, 14th Court of Appeals Place 8: Julia Maldonado
County Attorney: Vince Ryan
County Tax Assessor-Collector: Ann Harris Bennett
County School Trustee, Pos. 3, At-Large: Diane Trautman
County School Trustee, Pos. 6, Pct. 1: Erica S. Lee
County Commissioner, Precinct 1 : El Franco Lee
County Commissioner, Precinct 4: Sean Hammerle
Constable, Precinct 1 : Alan Rosen
Constable, Precinct 6 : Victor Trevino
County Sheriff – Adrian Garcia
City of Houston Bond Propositions: Vote ‘Yes’ or ‘For’ all propositions
HCCS Bond Proposition: Vote ‘Yes’ or ‘For’
HISD District Bond Proposition : Vote ‘Yes’ or ‘For’
The METRO Bond Referendum: Vote ‘For’
State Representative, District 148: Jessica Farrar
US House, District 2 – Jim Dougherty
US House, District 7 – James Cargas
US House, District 18 – Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee








Greg Jeu

Greg Jeu is the Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of OutSmart Magazine.

Leave a Review or Comment

Back to top button