National NewsNews

Dabakis Wins McAdams’ Utah Senate Seat

SALT LAKE CITY (AP)—Utah Democratic Party Chairman Jim Dabakis has emerged from a crowded field to win the state Senate seat vacated by Ben McAdams.

Dabakis defeated Salt Lake County Mayor Peter Corroon by a 67 to 61 vote of party delegates Saturday.

McAdams vacated the seat after his Nov. 6 election as Salt Lake County mayor.

Other contenders for McAdams’ seat included former Salt Lake County Councilwoman Jenny Wilson and Rep. Brian Doughty, who lost his re-election bid.

Dabakis plans to stay on as state party chairman, saying his situation is no different than other members of the part-time Legislature who hold other jobs.

In July 2011, Dabakis became the first openly gay person to lead a state party in Utah.

He has reached out to Mormon church members to become Democrats.


Associated Press

The Associated Press is an American multinational nonprofit news agency headquartered in New York City.

Leave a Review or Comment

Back to top button