Arts & EntertainmentNews

LOGO TV’s 2014 “New Now Next Awards” Features Darren Criss as Host and an Unforgettable Performance From Kristin Chenoweth Live from Miami on Sunday, December 7

Event honoring the year’s best new actors, artists, films, television, and more features special appearances by Nick Cannon, Tyler Glenn, Looking stars Raúl Castillo and Frankie Alvarez, Girl Code’s Nicole Byer, Awkward’s Molly Tarlov, along with Faking It’s Katie Stevens and Michael J. Willett

Darren Criss & Kristin Chenoweth Photo: Joe Kohen/Getty; Frederick M. Brown/Getty
Darren Criss & Kristin Chenoweth
Photo: Joe Kohen/Getty; Frederick M. Brown/Getty

Logo TV announced this week that Emmy and Tony Award-winning actress, singer, and OutSmart covergirl Kristin Chenoweth is slated to perform a song from her live CD Coming Home on the Logo TV’s 2014 “New Now Next” Awards premiering on Logo TV on Sunday, December 7, at 7 p.m. CST and MTV on Friday, December 12, at 6 p.m. CST. Actor and singer Darren Criss is hosting the event, which serves as the definitive farewell party for 2014 and predictor to who and what will dominate pop culture in the year to come. Pop icon and another OutSmart covergirl Cyndi Lauper narrates the New Now Next Awards, which also features special appearances by Nick Cannon, Tyler Glenn, Looking stars Raúl Castillo and Frankie Alvarez, Girl Code’s Nicole Byer, Awkward’s Molly Tarlov, as well as Faking It’s Katie Stevens and Michael J. Willett.

“So many talented and diverse voices broke new ground in music, television, film, theater, and the arts this year,” says Kristin Chenoweth. “I am beyond excited to celebrate the latest and greatest at the New Now Next Awards with a special performance that infuses a new and modern twist into some classics.”

“What can I say? I’m really pumped to be able to go Miami with such an amazing group of performers, nominees, and special guests,” says Darren Criss. “My New Now Next Award was one of the first honors I ever received, so it’s a thrill to be back with Logo TV hosting what promises to be an exciting evening.”

Jessie J sings her hit “Burning Up” during the event, and Betty Who makes her award show debut with a special performance.  Joe Jonas serves as the celebrity DJ for the event. Previously announced special appearances include Orange Is the New Black stars Laverne Cox, Danielle Brooks, Lorraine Touissant, and Lea DeLaria, Nick Jonas, Charli XCX, Mary Lambert, A Great Big World, Fifth Harmony, Perez Hilton, Tyler Oakley, Lance Bass, and Bianca Del Rio.

This year’s nominations span categories across television, film, music, theater, social media, literature, fashion, and art. Nominees that scored multiple nods include the films Gone Girl, Guardians of the Galaxy, Dear White People, Obvious Child, and The Fault in Our Stars; the television programs include Transparent, Looking, and Broad City; and theater productions include Cabaret, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, This Is Our Youth, and A Raisin in the Sun. Fans can vote now at <> .

The nominees for the 2014 “New Now Next Awards” are:


Best New Television Series:
Broad City
How to Get Away with Murder

Best New Television Actor:
Jay Duplass, Transparent
Jonathan Groff, Looking
Thomas Middleditch, Silicon Valley
Pedro Pascal, Game of Thrones
Justin Theroux, The Leftovers

Best New Television Actress:
Ilana Glazer, Broad City
Gaby Hoffmann, Transparent
Molly Parker, House of Cards
Katie Stevens, Faking It
Lorraine Toussaint, Orange Is the New Black

Best New Television Personality:
Pete Davidson, Saturday Night Live
Bianca Del Rio, RuPaul’s Drag Race
John Oliver, Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
Gwen Stefani, The Voice
Neil deGrasse Tyson, Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey


Best Motion Picture by a New Filmmaker:
Dear White People, Justin Simien
The Fault in Our Stars, Josh Boone
Guardians of the Galaxy, James Gunn
Snowpiercer, Bong Joon-ho
The Theory of Everything, James Marsh

Best New Screenwriter:
Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl
Craig Johnson (with Mark Heyman), The Skeleton Twins
Gillian Robespierre, Obvious Child
Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias, Love Is Strange
Justin Simien, Dear White People

Best New Lead Film Actor
Ellar Coltrane, Boyhood
Ansel Elgort, The Fault In Our Stars
Dylan O’Brien, The Maze Runner
Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy
Miles Teller, Whiplash

Best New Lead Film Actress
Carrie Coon, Gone Girl
Natalie Dormer, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1
Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Belle
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Jenny Slate, Obvious Child


Best New Musician (Male)
Nick Jonas
John Newman
Paolo Nutini
Sam Smith

Best New Musician (Female)
Iggy Azalea
Charli XCX
Mary Lambert
Meghan Trainor
Betty Who

Best New Music Group
A Great Big World


Best New Broadway Production (Musical)
Beautiful: The Carole King Musical
Hedwig and the Angry Inch
Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grill

Best New Broadway Production (Play)
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
It’s Only a Play
Mothers and Sons
A Raisin in the Sun
This Is Our Youth

Best New Broadway Lead Actor
Michael Cera, This Is Our Youth
Bryan Cranston, All the Way
Rupert Grint, It’s Only a Play
Chris O’Dowd, Of Mice and Men
Alexander Sharp, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best New Broadway Lead Actress
Rose Byrne, You Can’t Take It with You
Tavi Gevinson, This Is Our Youth
Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Real Thing
Sophie Okonedo, A Raisin in the Sun
Michelle Williams, Cabaret


Best New Fashion Designer
Becca McCharen, Chromat
Shayne Oliver, Hood By Air
Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel
Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, Public School
Rosie Assoulin, Rosie Assoulin


Best New Author (Fiction)
B. J. Novak, One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories
Courtney Maum, I Am Having So Much Fun Here without You
Edan Lepucki, California
Mira Jacob, The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing
Phil Klay, Redeployment


Best New Art Exhibition
Cory Arcangel, tl;dr
Jacolby Satterwhite, Transit
Kara Walker, A Subtlety
Kehinde Wiley, The World Stage: Haiti
Lucien Smith, Tigris

Social Influencers:

Best New Social Influencer (Male):
Robby Ayala, Vine: Robby Ayala
John Green and Hank Green, YouTube: Vlog Brothers
Logan Paul, Vine: Logan Paul
Mitch Grassi and Scott Hoying, YouTube: Superfruit
Troye Sivan, YouTube: Troye Sivan

Best New Social Influencer (Female):
Allicattt, YouTube: Allicattt
Jessi Smiles, Vine: Jessi Smiles
Brittany Furlan, Vine: Brittany Furlan
Colleen Ballinger, YouTube: Miranda Sings
Lele Pons, Vine: Lele Pons

Nominees for the 2014 “New Now Next Awards” were selected by the New Now Next Academy, a mix of industry experts from television, film, music, literature, art, and new media, as well as a survey of the Logo TV audience.

Now in its seventh year, Logo TV’s “New Now Next Awards” has earned a reputation for breaking new ground in pop culture. Lady Gaga performed live for the first time on television, the cast of Bridesmaids made their first televised appearance together, and the event honored Josh Hutcherson as the next big thing long before The Hunger Games was a worldwide phenomenon.


Leave a Review or Comment

Back to top button