Pride Parade Nominees, Theme Announced

by Nancy Ford

On March 5, Pride Houston announced the slogan and logo for the 2010 celebration in June. “Pride Not Prejudice” is the theme for Houston’s two-day celebration in June commemorating the 1969 Stonewall Rebellion in New York, widely considered to be the beginning of the contemporary gay equality movement. The logo was designed by Michael Hobley.

At the event held at Tony’s Corner Pocket, nominees for grand marshals of the parade were also announced.

Nominees for male grand marshal are Thomas Street Health Center director Pete Rodriguez, philanthropist Edward Sanchez, Montrose Counseling Center’s HIV/AIDS counseling program coordinator Keville Ware, and Pride Houston’s coming-out party host Gary Wood.

Nominees for female grand marshal are Montrose Counseling Center’s Seniors Preparing for Rainbow Years outreach worker Delma Cummings, Transgender Foundation of America executive director Cristan Williams, and former Pride Houston president Carol Wyatt.

Organization grand marshal nominees are AssistHers, which provides in-home, non-medical support care for lesbians; Empire of the Royal Sovereign and Imperial Court of the Single Star, a performance/fundraising group; Lesbian Health Initiative–Houston, which promotes women’s health in Houston’s LGBT community; Montrose Counseling Center, which provides behavioral health and prevention services to Houston’s LGBT community; and Montrose Softball League, which provides a sports outlet for both men and women.

Dr. Ann Robison, executive director of Montrose Counseling Center, is the sole honorary grand marshal nominee.

Voting takes place online through April 7 at, with the announcement of the winners on April 8 at Momentum Audi.


Leave a Review or Comment

Back to top button